Improving writing through collaboration

Checking and improving writing is an area I have been trying to develop in my classroom with my lower ability year 5 children. They find checking their work really difficult. After giving them a couple of chances to make improvements and redraft on their netbooks, I trialled partnering them up with a higher ability pupil from the same year group. The children then addressed any targets with a green pen, using their peers for support. Some even re-wrote out parts of their writing to make it even better. We have four sets in our year group so it was quite a change for my set 4 to be working with set 1, spread out across the floor in the hall!

It was a successful session and I will be repeating it periodically as the opportunity presents itself.

20130625-074844.jpg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *